Student Ministry

Starting Out with Student Ministry

For those of you who have been with me for a while now you know that back in February I was accepted to be a Student Minister at The Catholic University of America. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, click on student minister above and check out the link!

Well, I am now back at CUA and for the past two weeks have been in Student Ministry Training. These past two weeks have been a lot of different things: busy, hectic, tiring, overwhelming, draining, joyful, energetic, fellowship-filled, challenging and blessed…most of all, blessed. My favorite part of the last two weeks have been the incredible people I am surrounded with: my 22 fellow student ministers are some of the most joy-filled and faithful people I have ever met and I am privileged to work and grow with them this year.

When I was first accepted as a student minister I had no idea what I was getting myself into, and still don’t, but I know this much: I will be ministering to Seton Hall and Caldwell Hall. What this means is that I will have 51 female residents and 42 male residents. Over the course of the year I will be responsible for holding weekly and monthly events to help bring the Gospel and faith to them in our residence hall, but more than that, I am responsible for simply being present to my residents. I have promised to be there for them whenever they need me, to walk this journey of faith and life with them, and to be a reflection of God’s love for them.

To be honest, I am quite scared to start this journey of ministry. Often times over the past two weeks I have felt like I have no clue what I am doing and that I will not be capable of ministering to my residents in the way they need. It is in these moments that I try to surrender myself to the Lord, and I hear in my head the same verse of the song “Oceans” that I heard when applying for this ministry:

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters wherever you would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.

Please pray for me as I embark on this journey: pray that I may trust God in all my endeavors, rely on Him when I feel that I have no idea what I am doing, and believe in Him no matter what path He asks me to walk. I have no idea what God has in store for me this year as a Student Minister, however, I am grateful to have the opportunity to find out.

Now, please enjoy these photos from the past two weeks and witness to the great JOY that comes from living the Christian life.

All 23 Student Ministers!
All 23 Student Ministers!
All my fellow Resident Ministers!
All my fellow Resident Ministers!
SO MUCH JOY.
SO MUCH JOY.
Service day with my Central Neighborhood community.
Service day with my Central Neighborhood community.

Service day with my Central Neighborhood community!

Our first
Our first “Cookies and Community” event together.
Cookies and Community wouldn't be complete without crafts.
Cookies and Community wouldn’t be complete without crafts.
Student ministers and pastoral staff at the Tidal Basin.
Student ministers and pastoral staff at the Tidal Basin.
Val, Monica and I at the Tidal Basin.
Val, Monica and I at the Tidal Basin.
Paddle boating!
Paddle boating!
Kelly, Caroline and I matching pretty hard core while paddle boating.
Kelly, Caroline and I matching pretty hard core while paddle boating.
Bulletin board for the men of Caldwell.
Bulletin board for the men of Caldwell.
Also for the men of Caldwell.
Also for the men of Caldwell.
Bulletin board for the ladies of Seton!
Bulletin board for the ladies of Seton!
My life wouldn't be complete without this beautiful lady.
My life wouldn’t be complete without this beautiful lady.
Greta and I looking fabulous at the new bookstore in Monroe Street Market
Greta and I looking fabulous at the new bookstore in Monroe Street Market
Our final closing Mass together!
1545955_10152604975935782_7657586283019930649_n
Student Ministry Photo!
10599265_10152604975150782_192935980749462957_n
Student Ministry Photo!
One thought on “Starting Out with Student Ministry

Leave a Reply

