CUA · Faith · life · Student Ministry

Application Answers & an Attitude of Gratitude

Over a month ago I wrote about my Month of Applications, Interviews and Hail Mary’s.  To quickly recap, I was in the midst of a LOT of applications and was praying a 54 day rosary novena for them. I want to write a follow-up post and let you know how everything turned out.

“I despaired not of what I asked of thee, and thou hast truly shown thyself my mother.” This is part of the opening prayer for the 27 days of the rosary novena that you pray in thanksgiving. I have never believed anything to be more true than that statement. Mother Mary has truly been too good to me and outdone herself in the generosity of her intercession.

Though I am not going to give a status update to every application I mentioned in my last post, I am very happy to announce that this summer I will be working as a CUA Summer Assistant and interning for the Archdiocese of Washington’s Family Life Office. As for student leadership, I will be returning to Student Ministry next year as a Resident Minister serving in Gibbons Hall. I will also be a member of President’s Society next year. As for fall internships, all of that is still unfolding as new opportunities are still presenting themselves.

I am so incredibly thankful to Mama Mary for her intercession and to God for His never-ending goodness. I truly have a blessed life. I am so excited to see where each of these positions is gong to take me next year and what God is going to reveal through them. Everything that I have been a part of this year has helped me fall more in love with Christ and with His people, and I have no doubt in my mind that senior year will do the same, if not more.

Not only do I attribute all of these blessings to my prayers to our Blessed Mother, but my rosary novena has done something else for my life as well. It has helped me live with an attitude of gratitude. See, I feel like if I had not been praying the novena then when all of these blessings came into my life I would have been super thankful for them…for a few days. And then after the initial joy and celebration wore off, my thanksgiving would have easily slipped from my mind. But not this time. The novena called forth these blessings to my mind anew each time I prayed the rosary, 27 days past the day of acceptances. It helped me learn how to truly be thankful for the work of Mary and God, not just for a moment, but as a way of life.

Thank you Mama Mary, for leading me to the heart of your Son through gratitude. And thank you to all of my friends and family for your support through all of this.

Be His,

Screen shot 2015-02-21 at 6.32.11 PM

One thought on “Application Answers & an Attitude of Gratitude

Leave a Reply

