#FaithFoleyYours · Future Mrs. Foley

Engagement Celebration with the Student Ministers

Something I was insistent on when getting engaged was that I was going to tell everyone I was really close to in person – and only after I had the chance to do that would I post it on social media. I’m proud to say that there were only a few people that I had to text to tell because I simply couldn’t get to them in person.

The student ministers were a group of people that I absolutely had to tell in person. They have been my rock, support and community over the past year and I was not about to group me the good news to them. We have prayer time and fun time together every Tuesday night and take turns leading it. Last week my friend Casey was in charge of leading fun time. So I went to Casey on Monday and told her the good news first! Then I asked if I could hijack her fun time so that I could tell everyone else. She immediately decided that not only could I tell everyone, but that her fun time was now going to be an engagement party! I was able to convince Timmy to skip his night class so that he could be there as well – us being apart of a community together is something that is really important to me, plus this is just as much his celebration as it is mine!

It was amazing. The excitement, joy and support that the community gushed out on us was more than anything I could have ever imagined.

Here is a video of us revealing the surprise:

In student ministry we sing this song for birthdays and all of a sudden they adapted the song for “happy engagement”!

Teresa then gave a toast for us and I cannot thank her enough for her sincere heart and beautiful words:

Then all of the student ministers prayed over us, lead by Jonathan, and it was one of the most beautiful moments of my life:

Finally, here are some photos we snapped of us with these beautiful people that we are so blessed to have in our lives 🙂

IMG_0447
Almost all of the Student Ministers! (Missed ya Spencer, Sarah and Courtney!)
DSC_0928
Ange! And no, Timmy and I did not plan on matching and no, Ange did not plan on matching us!
DSC_0941
Casey! Can’t tell you how thankful we are for your love and generosity in doing this!
DSC_0940
Our wonderful toast giver 🙂
DSC_0930
Natalia! Who showers us with oh so much love!
DSC_0932
Val was one of the first of my friends to meet Timmy, and I admit, I told her individually before telling the whole group but she cheered along with everyone else just the same 🙂
DSC_0947
Aidan- I think he might love Timmy more than I do, which is really saying something.
DSC_0935
These are almost all of the Resident Ministers and I cannot express how thankful I am for the unending love and support they have given me over the past year!
DSC_0936
And I am overjoyed that now Timmy gets this love and support too!
DSC_0938
They asked us to do this!

DSC_0943DSC_0944

IMG_0465
Not pictured are ring pops that completed the ring theme a la Casey 🙂

Screen shot 2016-03-31 at 12.51.50 AM

Leave a Reply

